Self Reflection

Through studying photography for a number of years, I have definitely discovered branches of photography that I enjoy doing a lot more than others and also I have explored into careers that I would be interested in pursuing in the future. My favourite type of photography is live music photography, I have been interested in this type of photography for a number of years now due to my love for music, going to see live music and also my passion for photography. I have had a few experiences working in the live music photography industry and I have enjoyed every moment; it has given me an insight into the industry and has shown me some great experience in which I have learned from.

Live music photography can be quite difficult due to the constant movement of the band or performer, and the different lighting on stage; but through a lot of practise, I will be able to learn how to use my camera to it’s best ability in these circumstances. Luckily, I have a good camera to help me, it is a professional, full-frame camera, which is helpful in giving me high quality images.

I have done a lot of research into music photography through talking to other photographers, reading blogs and researching on the internet, in which I have now understood the requirements to become a professional photographer. To be successful in this industry, a lot of skills are required. It first starts with knowing how to work a camera properly, knowing what aperture, shutter speed and ISO is very important when shooting live music, so your images come out with the correct lighting and no blurring.

Below is a SWOT assessment of my progress so far:

Strengths:

  •  Enjoying the topic
  • Photography skills
  • Good communication skills

Weaknesses:

  • Lack of time
  • Lack of experience
  • Lack of easy transportation

Opportunities:

  • Work experience
  • Access to university or apprenticeships
  • Different projects for this Level 3 Extended Diploma course

Threats:

  • Competitive industry
  • Losing interest
  • Potentially failing my studies
Leave a Reply

